Buddha And Buddhism Essay Research Paper Meeting

Buddha And Buddhism Essay, Research Paper

Meeting Islam’s Challenge:

The 5 Pillars of Islam


The Quran is the book of guidance as revealed to the prophet Muhammad. It is the main source of

guidance for Muslims. The word Quran means that which should be read. It was revealed in Arabic. It

has been translated into many languages, but is still read in Arabic to retain its true meaning.

The Hadith are the collection of the prophet Muhammad’s sayings. These are the second source of guidance

for Muslims. The word Hadith means saying. The prophet Muhammad was the living example of Islam, so

what he said is very important for Muslims.

The 5 Pillars of Islam

1. Shahadah

The statement of belief that “There is no god except Allah and Muhammad is the messenger of Allah”.

2. Salah

Prayer, worship of Allah. Muslims must perform salah 5 times a day. Before Salah, Muslims prepare

themselves by performing Wudu (Ablution) which involves cleaning the hands, face, arms, head and feet.

Why Muslims pray five times a day.

Salat Time

Salat-ul-Fajr Between the first light of dawn and sunrise

Salat-ul-Zuhr After Midday

Salat-ul-Asr Mid-afternoon

Salat-ul-Maghrib Sunset

Salat-ul-Isha From one and a half hours after sunset

3. Sawm

Fasting from sunrise to sunset during the month of Ramadan. The Quran was revealed during this month.

Any days of fasting missed, because of health etc, should be made up after. Muslims can fast during other

days in the year, if they want to, but those are optional. The only days when Muslims are not allowed to fast

are the days of Id ul-Fitr and Id ul-Adha.

The fast in invalidated by :

Deliberate eating or drinking

Anything entering throught the nose or mouth.

Having any conjugal relations

The festival of Id ul-Fitr follows the month of fasting.

4. Zakah

Making payment of 2.5% welfare tax on wealth.

5. Hajj

Going, at least once in lifetime, on the pilgrimage to Makkah, if money and health permits. Performed during

the period 8th-13th Dhu’l Hijjah.

The Hajj involves the following rituals :

Putting on Ihram.

Going round Al-Kaabah seven times.

A fast walk between As-Safa and Al-Marwah.

Visiting and staying at Mina, Arafat and Muzdalifah.

Throwing pebbles at three fixed points in Mina.

Shaving or trimming hair.

Sacrificing an animal (camel, cow, goat or sheep).

The following restrictions are placed on the Muslims while wearing Ihram :

Restriction Purpose

Can’t use perfume To help forget enjoyment of ordinary daily life

Can’t kill or harm animals To feel that everything belongs to Allah

Can’t break or uproot plants To suppress urge for aggression and feel love of nature

Can’t hunt To develop mercy

Can’t marry or take part in a wedding To forget normal life and think of the creator

Can’t do be dishonest or arrogant To behave like a servant of Allah

Can’t carry arms To give up aggressive attitude

Too bad Muslim s only act this ways when they wear Ihram!!! World peace would be the result!

Can’t have conjugal relations To forget worldly pleasures.


ДОБАВИТЬ КОММЕНТАРИЙ  [можно без регистрации]
перед публикацией все комментарии рассматриваются модератором сайта - спам опубликован не будет

Ваше имя:


Хотите опубликовать свою статью или создать цикл из статей и лекций?
Это очень просто – нужна только регистрация на сайте.

opyright © MirZnanii.com 2015-2018. All rigths reserved.